top of page

Assertiveness

Being assertive without being aggressive is a tricky skill. Considering the task of navigating a foreign language, finding the right words to use in certain situations is all the more difficult. In my opinion, taking the time to establish a positive relationship with one’s boss early on is an important step. Professional employers understand the language barrier is going to be a problem, and if one chooses to confront it head on rather than skirt around it, that problem becomes less imposing. At my own internship, I often ask for the people around me to talk a little slower (più piano) or for them to repeat and explain words I do not recognize. They are happy to oblige and do whatever they can to help. This is one way to use assertiveness for self-improvement; my language skills are already getting better.

After establishing a positive relationship with the boss, one in which you are not afraid to speak up, I feel the next step is understanding one’s place in the organization. Understand the responsibilities expected, and then look for the tasks that are a step or two higher. I think it is important to take the time to make sure tasks already assigned are manageable, in order to be prepared for more advanced tasks. The more capable one feels, the easier it will be to accept even more. Being comfortable with the current position also makes it easy to feel comfortable being assertive. After spending a week getting acclimated to and completing the tasks I was assigned, asking to help with other jobs felt natural. After establishing a relationship with my supervisor where I ask questions frequently, asking to do more wasn’t so out of place.

Of course, coming across as aggressive is a big issue with trying to be more assertive. Thankfully, I have not had to deal with that too much at my internship. My co-workers are eager to teach me and help me try new things, and I am eager to learn. Unfortunately, some people have had worse experiences and are stuck with nothing to do, or confused about their place in the organization. To them I would suggest trying to come across as helpful yet firm. Don’t tell the supervisor you should be doing more, tell him/her that you want to do more. If you get rejected, don’t be too upset, and make sure to follow up and continue asking. Consistency and persistence are key to being assertive. It shows your employer that you are serious about taking on new challenges. Showcasing enthusiasm and eagerness goes a long way in coming off as positive rather than negative, which is an important distinction between assertiveness and aggressiveness.

I’ve enjoyed my internship so far, and I’m happy with the level of work I do. As time goes on and I grow more comfortable with my surroundings, I plan on asking for more responsibilities. With a positive attitude and increasing control of the language, I’m confident I’ll come across as assertive and willing to learn.

bottom of page